Embracing your passion

Alan Watts asks us what do we desire? What makes us itch? What sort of situation would we like? (Watch the video)

I can attest that I’ve found myself saying that I didn’t have the faintest idea of what I wanted to do in life because what was expected of me within society didn’t really match up with what my heart desired.

money

Well, I’ve always known the answer to that. I love art, not just the art that we can create… I love that too… I love being creative and creating beautiful things, but I love the art that we live in. I love listening to sounds, the sounds of nature making its own music. I love observing, people watching, staring at animals in their element, nature taking its course. I love scents, the faintest to the richest of smells, trying to discover what they’re made of. I love discovering things and experiencing things. I love studying and learning, just for the mere fact of knowing.

I actually contemplated being an artist and a writer once and I remember my dad advising me that computer was the way of the future and my grandparents recommending a career in medicine because otherwise I’d be a starving artist and my writing wouldn’t amount to much. They probably thought they were offering me words of wisdom and as much as I tried to stay away from my passions, I’m happiest when I’m able to be creative.

I can’t help but to smile at the common sense advice Watts goes on to give on how you can’t spend your life completely wasting your time doing something you don’t like doing.

long life

Alan Watts goes on to point out that, “after all, if you do really like what you’re doing, it doesn’t matter what it is, you can eventually become a master of it.” Steve Jobs was a great example of just that!

I’ve decided to embrace Alan Watt’s wisdom. I’m done spending my time doing things I don’t like in order to go on doing things I don’t like and being a poor example unto my children, teaching them to follow in the same track. I’m not going to bring them up and educate them to live the same sort of lives so many of us are living in order that they may justify themselves and find satisfaction in life by bringing up their children to bring up their children to do the same thing.

Therefore I’ve considered the question. “What do I desire?” and I desire to explore the world. I yearn to experience the bounty of this beautiful creation and share it with my children, to inspire them and to encourage them that whatever it is that their hearts desire they should also go out and pursue it!

So I’ve signed up for a 6-month around the world journey in hopes of fulfilling this conviction. The details can be found here: http://www.mydestination.com/users/thepaynes/bbb

What do you desire? Are you willing to pursue it?

signature

2 responses to “Embracing your passion

    • Thanks Rebecca! It’s not just you; we all need a good reminder of it often. It’s so tough because it’s not in our nature with how we’ve been brought up … for me at least, it’s against my nature… it almost feels selfish?!

Leave a Reply

